Gargoyle‘s 1988 staff: Maja Prausnitz, Todd Pruzan, Jennifer Sainato, Richard Peabody, Peggy Pfeiffer.
Gargoyle‘s Maja Prausnitz with Billy Childish, Peter Tatlin, and Christopher Twigg.

Gargoyle‘s 1997 staff: Jodi Bloom, Lucinda Ebersole, Richard Peabody, Maja Prausnitz.

The roster of people in Gargoyle‘s pages includes: Julia Alvarez, Ron Androla, mail artist Anna Banana, Mary Clearman Blew, Michael Brondoli, Jim Daniels, Ann Downer, Todd Grimson, Cathryn Hankla, Essex Hemphill, Herbert Huncke, Ted Joans, E. Ethelbert Miller, Thylias Moss, Ben Neihart, Antonya Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, Linda Pastan, Constance Pierce, Joe Queenan, Miriam Sagan, Maya Sonenberg, Eugene Stein, D.E. Steward, Laren Stover, Elizabeth Tallent, Henry Taylor, Janine Vega, Terence Winch, and Mary Kay Zuravleff, plus interviews with: Kathy Acker, Paul Bowles, T. Coraghessan Boyle, Chandler Brossard, Charles Bukowski, Rita Dove, Elaine Equi, Roy Fisher, Kenneth Gangemi, John Gardner, Allen Ginsberg, Jaimy Gordon, Richard Grayson, Charles Johnson, Mary Mackey, Paul Metcalf, Douglas Messerli, George Myers, Jr., Robert Peters, Scott Sommer, and Jonathan Strong.

In 1988, the Coordinating Council of Literary Magazines in NYC gave Richard Peabody an Editor’s award. On May 9, 1987, the Larry Neal Writer’s Conference recognized Gargoyle magazine “as having stimulated, nurtured, and given visibility to the District’s multi-cultural literary community.”


Work published in Gargoyle has been awarded, nominated for, or received honorable mention in the following:


In our first 35 years, Gargoyle has published work by: 
6 National Book Award-winning authors,
3 PEN/Faulkner winners, 
4 Pulitzer Prize winners,
2 MacArthur Fellows,
2 Nebula Award winners, 
2 Yale Younger Poets, 
1 Hugo Award winner, 
1 Poet Laureate,
6 Iowa Short Fiction Award winners, 
5 Flannery O’Connor Award winners, 
3 James Laughlin Award winners, 
2 Lamont Poetry Selection winners, 
2 William Carlos Williams Award winners,
8 National Poetry Series winners, 
5 Orange Prize Long List writers, 
2 Orange Prize Short List writers, 
2 National Book Critics Circle Award winners,

6 Lambda Literary Award winners, and 
3 Firecracker Alternative Book Award winners,
among others.